Colleges and Universities

More than 66,000 students are enrolled in the Capital Region’s 12 four-year and six two-year colleges and universities.

Rensselaer County, in particular, is home to:

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, the nation’s oldest technical college.

The Sage Colleges, including Russell Sage College, one of the country’s first colleges for women.

Hudson Valley Community College,  a two-year college associated with the State University of New York and the second-largest institution of higher learning in the Capital Region of New York State.

Other Capital Region higher education institutions include:

University at Albany – SUNY, an internationally recognized research institute in New York State’s capital city.

College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering (CSNE)  – SUNY Polytechnic Institute, is a global education, research, development, and technology deployment resource dedicated to preparing the next generation of scientists and researchers in nanotechnology.

Siena College, a private, Catholic, liberal arts college.

The College of St. Rose, ranked as a Best Northern University by U.S. News & World Report.

Albany College Of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, offers an array of degree programs in pharmacy and other health related fields.

Albany Medical College, a medical school founded in 1839 one of the oldest medical schools in the nation.

Albany Law School, a private, independent, ABA accredited law school. Albany Law School is the oldest independent law school in the United States. It was founded in 1851.

Maria College, a private, not-for-profit, baccalaureate degree-granting institution

Union College, a private, non-denominational liberal arts college.

Skidmore College, is a four-year liberal arts college.

Schenectady County Community College, a two-year college associated with the State University of New York.